My first (and hopefully last) DNS

Well, if I could apply a numerical value to how shit I feel today, it would roughly translate to 99/100.  I have been battling a cold for the last couple of days, but last night it really kicked into power mode, and I woke up this morning with cold sweats and a fever.  I nearly walked into the walls several times on my trip to the bathroom (at most, a 10 meter journey) due to being dizzy and sore, but still turned on the shower for my ‘pre-race clean up’.  As I waited for the water to heat up, I turned 90 degrees to my left, caught sight of myself in the mirror, chuckled at how pathetic I looked, realized it hurt to chuckle, and then had a coughing fit for approximately 3 minutes.  Once I had caught my breath and steadied myself, I switched off the shower and took my temperature.  Ah, shitty, fuckity fuck McFuck.

I texted my friend who was meant to be giving me a lift with the bad news, and went back to bed, furious, but exhausted.

After another few hours of sleep, I woke up to have my boyfriend utter the 3 words every girl who is sick and looks a hot mess wants to hear:

“The heating’s broken.”

Did I mention it had been snowing?  No?  Well it had been snowing.  And I know some people think ‘hate’ is a strong word, but I hate the cold.  I looked at my phone and noticed that all the Glenlivet 10k runners would be setting off in a couple of minutes, and I felt so dissapointed in myself, and so, so, so fucking angry at my boiler.  I also felt a significant amount of pain, though I may have mentioned that before.

Since my 11:00am moment of self-pity, the plumber has been and gone, and the flat is slowly heating up.  I am still really bummed I didn’t make the race, as I am the first to tell people to ‘man up’ (and I readily admit I told myself several times this morning to stop being such a wuss), but I honestly don’t think I could have have run a mile today, much less a 10k that involves about 5 hours of traveling to take part in.  I mean, when I wake up and don’t immediately think about food, I know there’s something wrong.

I hate not following through on plans, and it kills to know I missed out on another finisher’s medal, but I guess sometimes you just need to be sensible and realistic. I hope everyone racing today had a blast, and to those who I might’ve met at the Glenlivet, there are still plenty more races in the year.

Totally doesn’t mean I’m not pissed off.

7 thoughts on “My first (and hopefully last) DNS

  1. That really sucks. I think you made the right decision though. Fever and coughing fits are pretty good excuses to not get out of bed much less run.

  2. That really sucks! When it rains it pours. 😦 I think you made the right decision not to run though. Your recovery from your cold would take even longer after killing yourself trying to run while you are sick…not to mention all the pissed off people that would be walking in your shoes in about a week, after catching your nasty bug.

    Hopefully you are feeling better!

Leave a comment